iPerfumer: The Review

6 07 2010

As I posted last week, Wednesday saw the release of the new iPerfumer app by fragrance house Givaudan – and as promised I’ve been testing it for the last few days to see if this latest technological development will change the way we shop for fragrances. Here’s my iPerfumer testing journey…

After completing some fairly routine questions to create the basics of my profile, I was  faced with 6 scent categories to rate by preference – Citrus, Chypre, Floral, Fougere, Oriental and Woody. At first I was a bit dazzled by these technical  terms and the prospect of scoring them from 1 to 5 (cue ‘rabbit in caught in headlights’ expression) but Givaudan had pre-empted my confusion and provided extra information including fragrance examples to assist – so far so good.

The next step was to search for and ‘rate’ fragrances that I currently favour, in order for this clever little gizmo to make fragrance recommendations – so I went about adding D&G Light Blue Pour Homme and Allure Homme to my scent-sational list (did I just write that!?). Then that was it, no sooner had I said ‘Eau de Toilette’ and iPerfumer had come back with its trusted recommendations – no fuss, no shop assistant struggles – just three steps and I was done.

As for the choices themselves, I have to say that the iPerfumer got my taste down to a tee. It had chosen D&G Anthology L’Imperatrice (the one with the number ‘3’ on it) – which I actually own – and Gucci by Gucci Sport (the one you may have seen advertised by a topless James Franco) which I sampled at the weekend and really loved.

So as far as parfum predictions go, the iPerfumer app gets 5 out of 5 from me. It’s free, it’s simple and if my trial run is anything to go by, it really works too! Some people are always going to prefer physically shopping for the latest fragrance, but for those who put more faith in technology I think the iPerfumer might just have found a whole new market.

iPerfumer is available free from the app store now.

Actions

Information

2 responses

7 07 2010
Personal Care 101

iPerfumer: The Review…

I found your entry interesting do I’ve added a Trackback to it on my weblog :)…

7 07 2010
Amy Johnston

Thanks for the great review! Glad you like the app!

🙂

Leave a Reply

