Tried & Tested: Kyoku For Men Lava Masque

27 04 2010

As a product junkie, I test as many grooming products as I can get my hands on, so from now on I will be sharing my honest and un-biased opinion with the masses. Reporting back to you guys with what’s hot, and what most certainly is not, I’ll be grading the products on a variety of factors, from the perspective of a normal guy with a normal grooming budget. I hope that by doing so I can help you navigate your way towards the products that are worth your hard earned cash. First up, the Kyoku For Men Lava Masque.

KYOKU FOR MEN LAVA MASQUE
Price: £24.00 for 142g
Purpose: To pull out toxins and impurities from deep within your skin’s surface.
What the brand say: Kyoku for Men’s exclusive mineral-rich volcanic mud complex combines volcanic mud, volcanic black sand, volcanic ash, and 73 essential sea minerals straight from the coastlines of Japan into one essential product – the Kyoku for Men Lava Masque.

Pour Homme Verdict

Packaging: Would make a stylish addition to any bathroom, definitely one to leave on display rather than hide away. 5 out of 5
Ease of use: Face masks can be tricky, but this one goes on easily and for the most part, washes off without too much bother. 4 out of 5
Value for money: Even though it will last for a few months, and £24 is fairly average for a brand of this stature, I still think it’s maybe £7 or £8 over what I want to pay. 2 out of 5
Performance: My skin felt clean, fresh and revitalised from the first use, and after a fortnight it visibly reduced imperfections. 4 out of 5

The verdict: Having tried a few other Kyoku For Men products before, and been thoroughly impressed, I had high hopes for the Kyoku For Men Lava Masque. For the most part it did live up to my expectations – it was easy to use, the packaging looks great and it did leave my skin feeling firm and smooth.  The only thing that in my opinion lets the Lava Masque down is that at £24 pound it’s a little on the expensive side for a product that would essentially be an added extra for most guys. 3 out of 5

Want to try it for yourself? The Kyoku For Men Lava Masque is available from kyokuformen.com and lookmantastic.com now.

Actions

Information

6 responses

1 10 2010
Grooming News: Kyoku For Men Unveil New Bath & Body Range « POUR HOMME

[…] in April I reviewed the Kyoku For Men Lava Masque and loved it, I’ve been using the Daily Facial Cleanser for the last month or so, and the […]

13 10 2010
Tried & Tested: Kyoku For Men Water Body Scrub « POUR HOMME

[…] Tried & Tested: Kyoku For Men Water Body Scrub 13 10 2010 Following the launch of the Kyoku For Men Elements range earlier in the month here, as promised, is my verdict on one of the 12 new products – the Kyoku For Men Water Body Scrub. If you’re not familiar with the Kyoku For Men grooming range check out my first Pour Homme Tried & Tested from back in April where I reviewed the Kyoku For Men Lava Masque. […]

24 01 2011
Nick

Hey, I just recently purchased the Kyoku kit. How long do you think their face wash, scrub, and face lotion will last? 2-3 months if used twice per day?

24 01 2011
pour_homme

Hi Nick,
Thanks for your comment.
I’d probably say that you’re Face Scrub will safely last you 2-3 months as you’ll only need to use that once or twice a week depending on your skin type.
As for the Face Wash and Moisturiser it obviously depends on the amount to use but I’d say you’d be safe for about 6 weeks.
Let me know what you think of the products.
Thanks,
Pour Homme

25 01 2011
Nick

What do you think of the whole Kyoku line so far? I just purchased the cleanser, scrub, spf 15 moisturizer for the day, and the oil control moisturiser for the night i guess? it was about of the kit.

I also bought the lava mask and pore reducing serum. haha! I’m excited.

31 01 2011
pour_homme

It’s one of my favourite grooming ranges by far! A little more pricey than some others but there’s a real step up in quality and luxury feel.

My favourites are the Lava Masque, the after shave balm and the cleanser.

How are you getting on with those products?

Pour Homme

Leave a Reply

